Lucia Jennings, president of the Brazilian chamber, announces Ambassador Hermano Telles Ribeiro is to be the chamber's new honorary chairman.

Brazil’s new consul general based in Atlanta, Ambassador Hermano Telles Ribeiro, was recognized as honorary chairman of the Brazilian-American Chamber of Commerce of the Southeast Inc. at its March 14 annual meeting and reception.

Most recently, Mr. Telles Ribeiro was the head of the diplomatic planning unit at the Ministry of External Relations in Brasilia, Brazil’s capital, from 2008-11. Previously, he was deputy chief of mission in Paris from 2001-05.

In addition, the appointment of João Marcelo Oliviero was announced as the chamber’s regional director in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Mr. Oliviero has worked at the American Chamber of Commerce Inc. in Rio for a decade and currently is a private consultant who is available to help companies from the Southeast U.S.

Elaine Boing, who is to head a new section at the consulate promoting cooperation in education, science and technology, and Sandra Grohmann, who heads the consulate’s trade section, also were introduced.

Lucia Jennings, chamber president, and Robert West, chairman, are to continue in their positions.

New and/or re-elected board members are: Guilherme Cantuaria, medical director and principal investigator of the NCI Community Cancer Center Program at Northside Hospital in Atlanta;

Patrick Birchall, general manager at Intercontinental Buckhead Atlanta; Kendall Carter, partner, King & Spalding LLP; John H. Eaves, chairman of the Fulton County Commission;

Marc Ferguson, general manager, Latin America and the Caribbean, Delta Air Lines Inc.; Valone Gomes, business development manager, WEG Electric Corp.;

Kevin Lovelace, project manager, Georgia Power; Don Williams, CEO and president, Princeton Healthcare Inc.

They join the current board members: Taube Ponce, senior international trade manager, Georgia Department of Economic Development; Ricardo (Ric) Hubler, director, global business growth, Metro Atlanta Chamber; Michael Johnson, attorney, Johnston Barton Proctor & Rose LLP; Stephen Schrock, partner, Morris Manning Martin LLP and Miroslava Torres-Young, financial marketing consultant.

Long-serving members whose terms ended include David Bruce, professor, Institute of International Business, Georgia State University; Gilson Horstmann, technology manager of Embraco NA Inc.; Rosana Lima, owner, Minas Emporium.

For more information about the chamber, go to, or call Fabiana Di Pietro Xavier, the chamber’s executive director and director of marketing, at 404-880-1551 or send an email to here.