From left, LAA Executive Director Jeffrey Tapia; Carmelo Alvarez, outgoing chair of the LAA board; Compañeros award winner Dr. Andrew Griffin, Jr.; and new LAA chair Carlos Pagoaga, at the LAA’s 24th Annual Compañeros Awards Luncheon, April 18 at the Georgia Aquarium.



The Latin American Association announced on May 2 the new chairman of its board of directors and six new board  members representing some of Atlanta’s largest companies and law firms as well as the state of Georgia.

Carlos Pagoaga, director of global community initiatives for the Coca-Cola Co., is the new chair replacing Carmelo Alvarez, agent field executive for State Farm Insurance Inc. whose three-year term expired.

The new board members are: Christopher Aguilar, a retired financial services leader with more than 25 years in corporate banking, capital markets and investment banking;

David Bishko. managing director for market development and analysis/Latin America and the Caribbean, Delta Air Lines Inc.;

Renate Dugans, public affairs community specialist, State Farm Insurance; H. Eric Hilton, senior vice president, secretary and general counsel, H.J. Russell & Co. and

Chris Marquardt, partner, Alston & Bird LLP and Ramon Tome, chemist, the Georgia Department of Natural Resources.

They are replacing the outgoing members: Sally Davis, formerly vice president at Morehouse School of Medicine;

Barbarella Diaz, executive vice president of community affairs for Diaz Foods and Mark Newman, partner at Troutman Sanders LLP.

Established in 1972, the Latin American Association serves more than 50,000 individuals annual achieve self-sufficiency, put down roots, build a better life for themselves and their families and contribute to their communities.

To learn more about the association, click here.